## VIDYA BHAWAN BALIKA VIDYPITH SHAKTI UTTHAN ASHARAM LAKHISARAI

Class VIth. Subject Geography Date 17.1.2021.

Ch: Climate NATURAL VEGETATION AND WILDLIFE

## Seasons in India

There are four major seasons in India:

- Cold Weathers (Winter) Season: This season can be found from the month of December till February. During this cold-weather season, the sun rays do not fall directly in the region. As a result, the temperatures are quite low in the northern parts of India.
- Hot Weather (Summer) Season: This season can be usually found during the month of March till May. During this time, the sun rays more or less directly fall in this region making the temperature very high.
- Southwest Monsoon (Rainy) Season: The Southwest Monsoon Season or the Rainy Season starts from the month of June and continues till September. This season is marked by the onset and advance of the monsoon where the winds blow from Arabian Sea and Bay of Bengal towards the land. These winds carry moisture with them. When these winds strike the mountain barriers, rainfall occurs.
- Retreating Monsoon (Autumn) Season: The Autumn Season starts from the month of October and continues till November. This time is also called the season of retreating monsoons. During this season, the winds move back from the mainland to the Bay of Bengal. The southern parts of India, particularly Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh receive rainfall in this season.

SUBJECT TEACHER'S MUKESH KUMAR